Sunday, Oct 26th

Last update05:25




Menu Style

You are here: Sports

Lakers improve to 4-0 in NAC

THOMPSON – The Pymatuning Valley Lakers improved to 4-0 in the NAC with a 30-0 win over the Ledgemont Redskins. With the win the Lakers improved to 4-4 on the season. Ledgemont dropped to 1-6 on the year and 1-3 in the NAC.

Heralds advance to District Semifinal

CORTLAND - The Saint John Heralds won their sectional semifinal volleyball game over Badger in four sets. The Heralds won 22-25, 25-14, 25-16, 25-19 to advance to take on Bristol in the Division IV sectional championship game.

Spiderweb’s Kenny’s 5K Race Results


Top Three Males

1. Chet Mientkiewicz 17:21

2. Garr Richmond 20:02

3. Jesse Sharp 20:46

Lakers stay unbeaten in NAC



ANDOVER TOWNSHIP - Northeastern Conference action continued Friday, Oct. 10 at PV as the Lakers hosted the Southington Wildcats.

Warriors win soccer game



ASHTABULA – The Edgewood Warriors soccer team improved to 4-7-1 on the season and 1-6 in the AAC with a win over the visiting Niles McKinley Red Dragons. The Warriors shut out the Red Dragons with a 5-0 victory.

Falcons win on senior night


JEFFERSON -  The Jefferson Falcons girls soccer team was able to pick up their first win of the season on senior night. The Falcons defeated the Girard Indians 2-1 to win their first game of the season.

Redskins Sweep Super Bowls



ASHTABULA - The Varsity Redskins recently repeated as back-to-back champions in the Ashtabula Midget Football League with a 19-3 win over the Varsity Steelers.

Pirates run past Red Raiders


PERRY – The Perry Pirates improved to 4-2 on the season with a 35-14 win over the visiting Harvey Red Raiders. With the loss Harvey dropped to 3-3 on the season.

Redskins Spear Spartans


CONNEAUT - Football continued Saturday, Oct. 4,  at Conneaut as they hosted the Port Clinton Redskins. In a high scoring contest, the visitors, ranked fourth in their region, outscored the Spartans 55-29.

Well, it was exciting for one half. The Spartans took a 15-6 lead in the first quarter when Justin Franklin scored on a three yard run. Then Cole Walker hauled in a pass from QB Troy Colucci for a score. Port Clinton had scored on a one yard run.

Port Clinton began the second period with a long TD pass to Nathan Stubblefield, who was a sharp thorn all day for the Spartans. Another TD pass from QB Brandon Moore to Aidan Rospert gave the Redskins a 22-15 advantage.

In the final minutes before the half, QB Troy Colucci led his team down field to the PC four. Colucci then kept the ball, ran right, saw his path blocked, turned around and sped left around the end and picked up enough blockers to reach the end zone. Spees' kick was good and the score was tied at 22.

The Spartans held on  the Redskins next possession, stopping the QB run on fourth down and taking over deep in PC territory. On the first play QB Colucci saw Alex Gerdes in the end zone and lofted up a pass. Gerdes out jumped the DB and held on for the score,  29-22 as the Spartan faithful roared.

Harvey holds off Spartans

CONNEAUT -Conneaut's Lady Spartan soccer team welcomed the Harvey Red Raiders to the stadium and Joslin Field on Tuesday, Sept. 20.

The locals played hard and battled all game but fell short 4-1.

Madison remains undefeated


CHARDON – The Madison Blue Streaks won the battle between undefeated teams by shutting out the Chardon Hilltoppers 14-0. With the win the Blue Streaks improved to 5-0 on the season and 2-0 in the PAC. Chardon dropped to 4-1 on the year and 1-1 in the PAC.

Mustangs edge Bombers in junior high game


ORWELL – The Grand Valley Mustangs hosted the Windham Bombers in a recent junior high football game.